# **Table of Contents**

SUPPLEMENTARY PROTOCOL A/SP.1/7/93 AMENDING ARTICLE 1 OF THE PROTOCOL RELATING TO	THE
CONTRIBUTIONS BY MEMBER STATES TO THE BUDGET OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST	
AFRICAN STATES	2
THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT;	3
Article 1	3
Article 2	3

SUPPLEMENTARY PROTOCOL A/SP.1/7/93 AMENDING ARTICLE 1 OF THE PROTOCOL RELATING TO THE CONTRIBUTIONS BY MEMBER STATES TO THE BUDGET OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES

# THE AUTHORITY OF HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT;

**Mindful** of Article 5 of the ECOWAS Treaty establishing the Authority of Heads of State and Government and defining its composition and functions;

**Mindful** of the Protocol relating to the contributions by Member States to the budget of the Economic Community of West African States, signed in Lome on 5<sup>th</sup> November, 1976;

**Mindful** of the Supplementary Protocol A/SP.1/6/88 amending Articles 4 and 9 of the ECOWAS Treaty;

**Mindful** of Article 4 of the ECOWAS Treaty which establishes the Administration and Finance Commission as one of the technical and specialised commissions of the Community;

**Convinced** that the Administration and Finance Commission which was established to examine all administrative and financial matters concerning the Community should have the technical competence to examine all issues relating to the budget of the Community including the co-efficient for assessing the contributions of the Member States to the budget of the Community;

# AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

# Article 1

Article 1 of the Protocol relating to the contributions by Member States to the budget of the Economic Community of West African States is hereby amended with regard to the definition of the word "Commission", and substituted as follows:

"Commission" means the Administration and Finance Commission established by subparagraph (I) of paragraph 1 of Article 9 of the Treaty".

# Article 2

This Supplementary Protocol shall enter into force provisionally upon signature by the Heads of State and Government of Member States and definitively upon ratification by at least seven signatory States in accordance with the constitutional procedures applicable for each Member State.

This Supplementary Protocol and all instruments of ratification shall be deposited with the Executive Secretariat which shall transmit certified true copies of the Protocol to all Member States and notify them of the dates of deposit of the instruments of ratification and shall register this Supplementary Protocol with the Organisation of African Unity, the United Nations Organisations and such other organisations as the Council of Ministers shall determine.

This Supplementary Protocol shall be annexed to and shall form an integral part of the Treaty.

IN FAITH WHEREOF, WE, the Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of West African States have signed this Supplementary Protocol.

# DONE AT COTONOU, THIS 24<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF JULY 1993 IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH AND FRENCH LANGUAGES, BOTH TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

## Signed

H.E. Mr. Nicephore D. SOGLO

President of People's Republic of BENIN

#### Signed

#### H.E. Carlos Wahanon de Carvalho VIEGA

Prime Minister of the Republic of CAPE VERDE

#### Signed

## Hon. Alassane Dramane OUATTARA

Prime Minister of the Republic of COTE D'IVOIRE for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of COTE D'VOIRE

#### Signed

# H.E. Prof. Amos C. SAWYER

President of the Interim Government of National Unity of the Republic of LIBERIA

#### Signed

# H. E. Flt. Lt. Jerry John RAWLINGS

President of the Republic of GHANA

#### Signed

# H.E. Ahmed Ould ZEIN

Minister, General Secretary of the Presidency of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania for and on behalf of the President of the Islamic Republic of MUARITANIA

#### Signed

# H.E. Mahamane OUSMANE

President of the Republic of NIGER

# Signed

# H.E. General Ibrahim Badamasi

**BABANGIDA** *President, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria* 

#### Signed

#### H.E. Blaise COMPAORE

President of FASO, Head of Government BURKINA FASO

#### Signed

## **H.E. General Lasanna CONTE** *President of the Republic of GUINEA Head of State*

### Signed

# **H.E. General Joao Bernardo VIEIRA** *President of the Council of State of the*

Republic of GUINEA BISSAU

#### Signed

# H.E. Alhaji Sir Dauda Kairaba JAWARA

President of the Republic of THE GAMBIA

# H.E. Alpha Oumar KONARE

President of the Republic of MALI

# Signed

# H.E. Captain Valentine E. M. STRASSER

Chairman, Supreme Council of State of the National Provisional Ruling Council and Head of State of the Republic of SIERRA LEONE

## Signed

# H.E. Fambare Ouattara NATCHABA

Minister of Foreign Affairs, and Cooperation of the Togolese Republic for and on behalf of the President of the TOGOLESE Republic

# Signed

# H.E. Habib THIAM

Prime Minister of the Republic of SENEGAL for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of SENEGAL