PROTOCOL ON NON-AGGRESSION	.3
THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES	.4
ARTICLE I	
ARTICLE 2	
ARTICLE 2	
ARTICLE 4	
ARTICLE 5	
ARTICLE 6	.5

PROTOCOL ON NON-AGGRESSION

THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES

CONSIDERING that the Economic Community of West African States, (hereinafter referred to as the "Community"), set up by virtue of the Treaty of May 28, 1975, cannot attain its objectives save in an atmosphere of peace and harmonious understanding among the Member States of the Community;

RECALLING Article 2 (4) of the United Nations Charter which provides that all Member States shall refrain, in their international relations, from the threat or use of force against the territorial integrity or independence of any State, or any other manner inconsistent with the purposes of the United Nations;

RECALLING Article 3 (3) of the Charter of the Organisation of African Unity which provides for the respect of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of each State and its inalienable right to independent existence;

RECALLING the Resolution of the Summit Meeting of Heads of State and Government of the Community held in Lome on 5 November, 1976 regarding the signing of an Annexed Protocol on non-recourse to force by Member-States of the Community;

AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE I

Member States shall, in their relations with one another, refrain from the threat or use of force or aggression or from employing any other means inconsistent with the Charters of the United Nations and the Organisation of African Unity against the territorial integrity of political independence of other Member States.

ARTICLE 2

Each Member State shall refrain, from committing, encouraging or condoning acts of subversion, hostility or aggression against the territorial integrity or political independence of the other Member States.

ARTICLE 3

Each Member State shall undertake to prevent Foreigners resident on its territory from committing the acts referred to in Article 2 above against the sovereignty and territorial integrity of other Member States.

ARTICLE 4

Each Member State shall undertake to prevent non-resident Foreigners from using its territory as a base for committing the acts referred to in Article 2 above against the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Member States.

ARTICLE 5

- 1 Member States pledge to respond to all peaceful means in the settlement of disputes among themselves.
- 2 Any dispute which cannot be settled peacefully among Member States shall be referred to a Committee of the Authority. In the event of failure of settlement by the aforementioned Committee the dispute shall finally go to the Authority.
- 3 The composition and the mandate of the Committee referred to in the preceding paragraph shall be decided upon by the Authority.

ARTICLE 6

- 1 This Protocol shall come into effect provisionally on signature by the Heads of State and Government, and definitively on ratification by at least seven signatory States, in conformity with the constitutional regulations of each Member State.
- 2 This Protocol, as well as all the Instruments of Ratification, shall be deposited with the Executive Secretariat who shall transmit certified true copies of this Protocol to all Member States informing them of the dates on which the Instruments of Ratification have been deposited. The Protocol shall be registered with the Organisation of African Unity, the United Nations Organisation and any other Organisation approved by the Authority.
- 3 Any Member State may accede to this Protocol and the instrument of accession shall be deposited with the Executive Secretariat.
- 4 This Protocol shall be annexed to and form an integral part of the Treaty.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, WE, THE HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT IN THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES HAVE SIGNED THIS PROTOCOL

DONE AT LAGOS THIS 20ND OF APRIL 1978 IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH AND FRENCH LANGUAGES BOTH TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

Signed

H.E. Lt Mathieu KEREKOU

President of People's Republic of Benin

Signed

H.E. Mr. Aristides PEREIRA *President of the Republic of Cape Verde*

Signed

H.E. Alhaji Sir Dauda K. JAWARA

President of the Republic of Gambia

Signed

H.E. Major-Gen. George Yaw BOAKYE

For and on behalf of the Head of State and Chairman of the Supreme Military Council of the Republic of Ghana

Signed

Mr. Ismael TOURE

Minister of the Economy and Finance For and on behalf of the Head of State and Commander-in-Chief of the People's Revolutionary Armed-Forces, President of the Republic of Guinea, President Ahmed Serou TOURE

Signed

H.E. Mr. Luiz CABRAL

President of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Signed

H.E. Mr. Leopold Sedar SENGHOR

President of the Republic of Senegal

Signed

H.E. Dr. Siaka STEVENS

President of the Republic of Sierra-Leone

Signed

H.E. Mr. Felix HOUPHOUET-BOIGNY

President of the Republic of Ivory-Coast

Signed

H.E. Dr. William R. TOLBERT, Jnr. *President of the Republic of Liberia*

Hon. Mr. Founeke KEITA

Minister of Finance and Trade for and on behalf of the Chairman of the Military Committee of National Liberation President of the Republic of Mali

Signed

H.E. Mr. Moktar Ould DADDAH

President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Intendant Militaire Moussa TONDI

Minister of Finance for and on behalf of the Supreme Military Council of the Republic of Niger

Signed

H.E. Lt General Olusegun OBASANJO

Head of the Federal Military Government, and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Signed

H.E. General Gnassingbe EYADEMA *President of the Togo Republic*

Signed

H.E. General A. Sangoule LAMIZANA *President of the Republic of Upper Volta*