SUPPLEMENTARY PROTOCOL A/SP.2/5/81 AMENDING ARTICLE 4 OF THE TREATY OF THE ECONOM	/IIC
COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES RELATING TO THE INSTITUTIONS OF THE COMMUNITY	2
THE GOVERNMENT OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN	
STATES:	3
ARTICLE 1	3
Institutions	3
ARTICLE 2	4
Deposit and Entry into Force	4

SUPPLEMENTARY PROTOCOL A/SP.2/5/81 AMENDING ARTICLE 4 OF THE TREATY OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES RELATING TO THE INSTITUTIONS OF THE COMMUNITY

THE GOVERNMENT OF THE MEMBER STATES OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES:

RECALLING Article 4 of the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States which sets out the various institutions of the Community;

RECALLING further that Article 4 contemplates the establishment of other commissions or bodies by the Authority in addition to those specifically created under this Article;

CONVINCED of the urgent need to create an organ responsible for the defence of the Community in the light of the continuous threat of armed conflict and aggression from outside the Community;

DESIRING to conclude an additional protocol amending sub-paragraph 1 of Article 4 of the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States signed at Lagos on 28th **d**ay of May, 1975;

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

Institutions

Paragraph 1 of Article 4 of the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States is hereby amended to read as follows:

- 1. The institutions of the Community shall be:
 - (a) The Authority of Heads of State and Government;
 - (b) The Council of Ministers;
 - (c) The Defence Council;
 - (d) The Executive Secretariat;
 - (e) The Tribunal of the Community; and
 - (f) The following Technical and Specialised Commissions:
 - The Trade, Customs, Immigration, Monetary and Payments Commission;
 - The Industry, Agriculture and Natural Resources Commission;

- The Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Commission;
- The Social and Cultural Affairs Commission;
- The Defence Commission;

And such other Commissions or bodies as may be established bodies as may be established by the Authority of Heads of State and Government or are established or provided for by this Treaty.

ARTICLE 2

Deposit and Entry into Force

- 1. This additional Protocol shall enter into force provisionally upon signature by Heads of State and Government of Member States and definitively upon ratification by at least seven Member States in accordance with the constitutional procedure applicable for each signatory State.
- 2. This additional Protocol and all Instruments of Ratification shall be deposited with the Executive Secretariat of the Economic Community of West African States which shall transmit certified true copies of this Protocol to all Member States and notify them of the dates of deposits of the Instruments of Ratification and shall register this additional Protocol with the Organisation of African Unity, the United Nations and such other organisations as the Council of Ministers shall determine.
- 3. This additional Protocol shall be annexed to and shall form an integral part of the Treaty.

IN FAITH WHEREOF WE THE HEADS OF STATE AND GOVERNMENT OF THE ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES, HAVE SIGNED THIS ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL

DONE AT FREETOWN THIS 29TH DAY OF MAY, 1981, IN SINGLE ORIGINAL IN THE ENGLISH AND FRENCH LANGUAGES BOTH TEXTS BEING EQUALLY AUTHENTIC.

Signed

H.E. Colonel Mathieu KEREKOU

President of People's Republic of BENIN

Signed

H.E. Pedro PERES

Prime Minister, for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of CAPE VERDE

Signed

H.E. Abdoulaye KONE

Minister of Economy and Finance for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of IVORY-COAST

Signed

H.E. Dr. Momodou S.K. MANNEH

Minister of Economic Planning and Industrial Development of the Republic of GAMBIA

Signed

H.E. Master Sergeant S.K. DOE

Chairman, People's Redemption Council and Head of State of the Republic of LIBERIA

Signed

H.E. Drissa KEITA

Minister of Finance, Commerce for and on behalf of the President of the Republic of MALI

Signed

H.E. M.M.K. OULD HAIDALLA

President of the Republic of Mauritania

Signed

H.E. Hamid ALGABID

Minister of Commerce for and on behalf of the Military Council of the Republic of NIGER

Signed

H.E. Dr. Hilla LIMMAN

President of Republic of GHANA

Sianed

H.E. Ahmed Sekou TOURE

President of the People's Revolutionary Republic of GUINEA

H.E. Commandant Joao Bernado VIERA

President of the Republic of Guinea Bissau

Signed

H.E. Lt. Colonel Felix TIEMTARUBOUM

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation for and on behalf of the Head of State of the Republic of UPPER VOLTA

Signed

H.E. Alhaji Shehu SHAGARI

President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Signed

H.E. Abdou DIOUF

President of the Republic of SENEGAL

Signed

H.E. Dr. Siaka STEVENS

President of the Republic of SIERRA LEONE

Signed

H.E. General Gnassingbe Eyadema

President of the Republic of TOGO