ECOWAS Commission

Welcome to the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). Established on May 28 1975 via the treaty of Lagos, ECOWAS is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

President Umaro Embola

Chairman of the Authority

Organizing conference among ourselves to make it better financially

The ECOWAS Commission is the engine room of all ECOWAS programmes, projects and activities. This ECOWAS administrative instrument was transformed from an Executive Secretariat to a Commission in 2007 in fulfilment of a decision to that effect taken the previous year in Niamey, Niger Republic.

In the wisdom of the Heads of States and Governments, the change of nomenclature and administrative structure is to make ECOWAS adapt better to the international environment, bringing about more equity, transparency and greater functionality in accordance with global best practices. The Commission is in a better position to support ECOWAS member states to build their capacities for programme implementation.

Having taken the historic decision to transform the ECOWAS Secretariat into a Commission, Heads of State and Government also endorsed institutional reforms covering all arms of ECOWAS. By implementing the transformation process faithfully, ECOWAS is re-positioned to fulfill the mandate of its founding fathers and meet emerging challenges.

ECOWAS is taking ownership of the grand objectives designed to improve the living conditions of the citizenry, ensure economic growth and create an environment conducive to development and meaningful integration

Other Institutions & Agencies


Member States