Press Releases

Members of the ECOWAS Standby Force pay Farewell visit to ECOWAS Commission President

09 Dec, 2017
President de Souza presenting a certificate to Colonel Major Morou flanked by Commissioners Ahmed and Monteiro

Abuja, 8th December 2017. A 9-member team of the ECOWAS Standby Force (ESF) led by its chief of staff Colonel Major Seidou Maiga Morou on Friday 8th of December 2017 paid a farewell visit to the president Marcel de Souza at the ECOWAS Commission Headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria.

The team was on a valedictory visit after three years of meritorious service to the regional community where the ESF has helped to bring about greater stability to states that make up ECOWAS.

Conferring with the team, President de Souza thanked them for the way and manner they have professionally approached the tasks assigned to them and wished them success in their future endeavours.

The President who presented certificates of service to each member of the team, also gave assurances of the Commission’s commitment to the provisions in their condition of service.

Speaking on behalf of the team, Colonel Major Morou pledged to continue in the service of the regional community. “We have worked hard for the entrenchment of peace in our region and are very proud to have served the Force (ESF) in this period” He added.

The ESF team was accompanied on the visit by the ECOWAS Commission’s Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security Mrs. Halima Ahmed and her Human Resources counterpart Dr. Joao Jose Silva Monteiro, Director of cabinet Ambassador Abel Agbebleo as well as the Director, Political Affairs Dr. Remi Ajibewa.

The ESF is a multidisciplinary Force made up of military, police and civilian personnel from the ECOWAS Member States. It provides personnel for regional and continental peace support operations and intervention missions.


Member States