Twitter Facebook Youtube
President Umaro Embalo elected Chairman of ECOWAS and Omar Alieu Tou-ray appointed president of the ECOWAS Commission

Accra, July 4, 2022 – The Sixty-First Ordinary Session of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) held on July 03, 2022, in Accra, Ghana.

President Umaro Embalo

The Heads of State considered reports from the Council of Ministers meeting, which held from June 30 to July 01, 2022, in Accra and other issues affecting the region.


Among the decisions taken at the session was the election of H. E Umaro Sissoco Embaló, President of The Republic of Guinea-Bissau as the Chairman of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government, he took over from President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of Ghana.


Also announced was the appointment of H.E Dr. Omar Alieu Touray of the Republic of The Gambia as the new President of the ECOWAS Commission who will replace H.E Jean-Claude Kassi-Brou of the Republic of Cote D’Ivoire on July 11, 2022.

Share on :

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linkedin Youtube Instgram