Press Releases

3rd Workshop of ECOWAS Communication Officers: Guidelines for the new ECOWAS website and draft of the future ECOWAS Information and Communi-cation Policy document now available

01 Nov, 2021
Ouagadougou (Burkina Faso), 30 October 2021. Information and Communication Officers of ECOWAS Institutions, Specialised Agencies and Permanent Representations met in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, from 25 to 29 October 2021, for their 3rd technical discussion and experience sharing workshop. The workshop took place simultaneously in the premises of the ECOWAS Youth and Sports Development Centre (EYSDC) and the ECOWAS Water Resources Management Centre (WRMC), with tech-nical support from the German Cooperation Office (GIZ).

After five days of discussions, the deliberations, which took place in two separate technical committees, culminated in a series of guidelines, documents and recommendations. The Web-site committee, which held its sessions at the ECOWAS Youth and Sports Development Centre (EYSC), finalised a document on the main guidelines and recommendations to be submitted to the firm hired to design a modern and vibrant ECOWAS website. The members of the commit-tee strongly advocated their involvement in the different strategic phases of monitoring the implementation of the new website, especially in the different meetings related to redesign, testing and validation.

For their part, members of the InfoCom committee who met at the ECOWAS Water Resources Management Centre came up with a first draft of the future ECOWAS information and commu-nication policy document. At this stage, it was recommended that a select committee be set up to finalise the draft of the proposed document, with the technical support of other ECOWAS resource persons.

It should be recalled that the proceedings of the 3rd workshop of ECOWAS Communication Officers were launched on the morning of Monday 25 October 2021 by Ambassador Tièna Cou-libaly, ECOWAS Resident Representative to Burkina Faso, on behalf of His Excellency Jean Claude Kassi Brou, President of the ECOWAS Commission.

Member States